A fun-filled emporium of geek reference!!

…An Experimental Time/Cure

Ever find yourself in one of those inexplicable funks??  I sure did last night and I’ve discovered a marvelous remedy for those of you out there, like me, that are children of that certain era that allows us to remember life before this internet and cell phone thing. I treated myself to a glimpse back to that magical, experimental time of my youth known today as the 90’s!  Ah, yes; the 90’s; when people of the world would seemingly try anything at least once.  The music was different, the clothes were…interesting, and the movies (well at least 82% of them) were honestly kind of shite!!  Now before you go get all defensive; yes, we got great pictures like Batman Returns, Toy Story, Silence of the Lambs, and Forrest Gump. And yes, this is when Tarantino emerged and took the world by storm.

Sinbad!!

Sinbad!!

However, let us not forget that the 90’s also brought us such classics as Don’t Be a Menace to South Central While Drinking Your Juice in the Hood (you bet your bottom dollar that’s a movie!!), Kazaam-starring Shaq, and Surf Ninjas! But last night my pick me up came from the classic comedy stylings of Sinbad in Houseguest from 1995.  Sinbad plays a slacker, from the ‘streets’, with a dream that poses as on old friend to Phil Hartman to escape the heat from the mob. True, the plot is paper-thin and the flick is predictable and just so gloriously 90’s; but it turned out to be exactly what I needed to lift my spirits. So I say to you, next time modern life’s got you down, why not take a trip in the way-back machine and enjoy a gem from the 90’s….just avoid Double Dragon at ALL COSTS!!! 

-DStarB

Leave a Reply

