A fun-filled emporium of geek reference!!

New Ridiculously Awesome Review: Rise of the Guardians

Rise of the Guardians Movie PosterI think there were a lot of unsung heroes in last year’s group of animated films (I’m looking at you Paranorman!), one of which was Rise of the Guardians.  For those of you with interests in fandoms, this little film has managed to find a niche (and some cool fanart) and I hope to help it grow!  It really is a nice film that finally does what so many films promise: putting a new twist on fables and folklore.  Guardians does that very well and beautifully to boot.

It’s out on Blu-ray and DVD this week so if you were on the fence about it when it was in theaters, do yourself a favor and go for it now that it’s been released!

14 responses

  1. todayiwatchedamovie

    My favorite animated movie of 2012.

    14/03/2013 at 14:26

    • aquisha

      Gah, I loved this movie! It’s a shame that there aren’t more people singing its praises.

      14/03/2013 at 15:01

      • todayiwatchedamovie

        I was surprised I loved it as much as I did.

        14/03/2013 at 15:23

      • aquisha

        I felt the same way; I went in with no real expectations but ready for something generic. But there were so many nuances to the story and it was so well told that it completely won me over.

        14/03/2013 at 15:34

      • todayiwatchedamovie

        I specifically loved the way they handled Santa Claus.

        14/03/2013 at 15:42

  2. aquisha

    The scene where he’s explaining to Jack where his power comes from with the nesting doll…I was sold.

    14/03/2013 at 15:46

  3. well, I for one really wanted to see it!

    14/03/2013 at 15:58

  4. aquisha

    Your foresight never ceases to impress. Did you like it?

    14/03/2013 at 16:09

    • ….but never actually saw it!! :/

      14/03/2013 at 20:54

      • aquisha

        I’m telling’ ya: It’s out, it’s good, go see it!

        14/03/2013 at 21:44

  5. You know, I think it’s also my favorite movie of 2013! “Life of Pi” is also a contender, but Rise of the Guardians was the most fun I had in the theater all year. That’s counting “Avengers,” “Skyfall,” and “Tintin” (which I saw New Year’s Day 2012). It’s by no means the best movie I saw, but I enjoyed it most, and it might be better than Brave.

    14/03/2013 at 16:48

    • WOW!! It must be pretty fantastic if it can contend with the will of the Avengers!!

      14/03/2013 at 20:55

      • It helps that I saw it in a theater full of kids who reacted perfectly to the events onscreen; laughing at the funny parts, gasping at the cool parts, clapping at the heroic stuff, and not being annoying. Their joy was infectious. Of course, the movie’s inventiveness and sense of fun helped.

        And that’s not to disparage Avengers, which was a ton of fun and very well handled.

        19/03/2013 at 19:12

  6. Pingback: 4-minute video: Courage vanquishes fear; exposes 1%’s isolation, lies — State of Globe

Leave a Reply

